Writing with the Seasons
Writing with the Seasons Podcast
On the Road: a guided writing course
0:00
-30:58

On the Road: a guided writing course

Writing with the Seasons - November 2022 (audio)

During these shorter, darker days of November, when perhaps we’re outdoors and in the world a little less, I’ve been thinking a great deal about how we find the stories and poems we want to write. What draws us to some subjects, and away from others?

The poet Camille Dungy talks about the ways in which her writing opens her up to a ‘conversation with people who have often been hungry to share that conversation.’ I love that idea. Finding a subject that matters to you, is likely to matter to someone else too.

When I write, I keep going until I feel something. A spark. A click. A prickle of tears. A laugh. In my body, my heart, my mind. If I feel something, my theory is that a reader is likely to as well.

So, this month, I wish you many sparks and clicks! To help you on your journey, here’s an audio workshop I created called ‘On the Road.’ It’s about road trips, maps and navigating by car, and also how to capture a sense of freedom in our writing.

I hope you enjoy it!


Writing with the Seasons is brought to you by Write & Shine, a programme of morning writing events and online courses.

0 Comments
Writing with the Seasons
Writing with the Seasons Podcast
A collection of writing prompts, ideas and inspiration following the seasons, month by month. This guide for writers reflects the rhythm of the natural world—and is best enjoyed slowly as the year unfolds.
We hope you enjoy it!